Packing Already!

Standard

We are already packing? Yup… 2 months in advance and we are already packing! My dad conveniently put together an Excel file stating what and how much of each clothing article we are allowed to bring around the world. Following the list (according to it I have 38 pieces of clothing), my parents are packing for the little ones today.

Luggage is tricky. Rollies or duffel? All of the travel books we have consulted so far tell us to take what you can carry easily in a duffel. However, the little ones can’t carry their bag together because it would be too heavy so they are taking a small Nautica suitcase on rollies. Audrey and I are taking an Osprey Porter 46 duffel. http://www.ospreypacks.com/en/product/gear_hauling/porter_46 It is tiny!! My parents are doing the same except they get one duffel each.

So far we have been preparing for our trip pretty well. My dad purchased whistles for my three little sisters in case we get separated or lost. He grew up with 9 siblings and when they traveled they all had whistles with different color ribbon so I have his old one. My parents have renewed the passports and in every nook and cranny I find a different travel book about every place from The Italian Lakes to Cambodia. We cleared our bookshelves out and now we only have a small travel library with books titled Bali & Lombok, The Big Trip, Switzerland,  How to Live in a Dangerous World, Thailand, Paris 2011, Escape from Cubicle Nation, and more…  I found it hilarious how we had almost collected a mini library.

We’ll see if Audrey and I fit into this….

I will keep you updated on what else is happening concerning out trip which is getting nearer every day….

About One World, 4 Girls

Hello! My name is Lillian and my family of 6 took a trip around the world for 8 months. I used my blog to document the places we visited, pictures, and my thoughts, ideas, and opinions. Check it out to read about our travels and follow us as we find our new place in the world and experience where life will take us next!

3 responses »

    • Thanks and it’s funny you mention that… I bought one for myself a couple of months ago… I didn’t know it would come in handy now!

Thoughts, Ideas, Opinions...

