Are you smarter than a 5th grader?

Standard

Actually, studies such as this article now show that kids don’t really have any idea when it comes to geography. Less than 1/3 of kids in K-12 showed any proficiency in geography said the article. This is probably due to less and less learning attention to the subject, as the teachers have to concentrate more on Math and Reading, because of testing. The important ability to read maps is lost and day-to-day things like the mechanisms of an earthquake are as well. Important skills are being lost and must resurface sometime soon!

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2011-07-19/u-s-kids-appear-lost-in-latest-study-of-geography-knowledge.html

About One World, 4 Girls

Hello! My name is Lillian and my family of 6 took a trip around the world for 8 months. I used my blog to document the places we visited, pictures, and my thoughts, ideas, and opinions. Check it out to read about our travels and follow us as we find our new place in the world and experience where life will take us next!

3 responses »

  1. I guess that why there’s google..for the things we forget to learn or the things we need to be reminded about….

  2. Lieve Lillian, I just opened the link to your blog and I read all available entries, VERY entertaining and I enjoyed reading them all, at least I think it was all.
    I watched in amazement the “sand painting about the Ukrain story and I was not surprised that the artist was able to move the audience to such an extent.
    Happy moving to the last apt before the ocean jump!!! You all are very lucky ducks !!!
    Opa got through his vocal cord procedure yesterday alright , he still sounds hoarse, but that will get better in about a week.
    We had such a nice time with you all in Chicago and enjoyed all the activities we did with you. And “thank you” for helping push the wheelchair !I
    I hope I did all the technical tricks to get my answer to you alright and I will follow your blog with much anticipation. Give our love and hugs to ALL! Oma /Opa

    • Thank you so much for looking at my blog Oma!! I am very glad you liked them and we had such a great time together in Chicago. Thank you for coming! And I will make sure everyone gets some love from you 🙂
      Veel Liefs <3,
      Lillian

Thoughts, Ideas, Opinions...

