104 degrees and real European quality

Standard

As you probably have heard (or felt), there is a massive heat wave striking the Midwest… and it’s insane! KinderCone, my mom’s company http://www.kindercone.com/ is approaching its peak season and for a marketing project I searched all toy stores, children’s boutiques, and language schools in the suburbs out of Chicago. I planned a route between these stores and today we set off on the drive. While my mom drove, I juggled the iPad, my phone, and my Excel file (I am as crazy computer organized as my dad) determining the way through the unknown streets and the tiny little street signs that no one can read. We stopped at little places like Lollie http://www.lollieshop.com/, Wishes Toys Wonderland http://www.wishestoywonderland.com/, or Leoleno http://www.leoleno.com/.

Leoleno is a really european toy store that just opened. It is sleek and modern with shiny hardwood floors, an open floor plan, and high white washed walls. However, it had tons of character and each product was very well-thought out, modern, beautiful, and convenient. It carries high quality european strollers, hand carved wooden toys, and many other high quality products imported from Europe. They even have a little learning center for workshops and lessons that is also a place where kids can play. The owner is very nice and we talked for a long time in German and she is displaying our Kindercones now.

Every time we walked back to our car it seemed to get hotter and hotter. You could almost see the humidity in the air. Coming back from Leoleno took longer and when we got into our leather car seats they were so hot my mom screamed and jumped back out. I quickly snatched a paper bag and sat on that instead, feeling a bit stupid. As we drove home I took pictures of the dashboard in the car seeing that it was 104 degrees out! Everyone stay cool!

About One World, 4 Girls

Hello! My name is Lillian and my family of 6 took a trip around the world for 8 months. I used my blog to document the places we visited, pictures, and my thoughts, ideas, and opinions. Check it out to read about our travels and follow us as we find our new place in the world and experience where life will take us next!

One response »

  1. I wish I could have checked out Leoleno. It sounds perfect and just the type of concept that is different from more traditional American children’s stores. Great that you are helping Mama, Lillian.

Thoughts, Ideas, Opinions...

