Mama gets pampered!

Standard

Yesterday was an extremely long day… I filled and packed many orders for KinderCone. My mom drove downtown to meet my dad for lunch at the University Club of Chicago one last time. All of our memberships either expire at the end of this month or we are canceling them so we try to squeeze in as much last-minute “sight-seeing” as possible. Chicago is expensive as any other large city when it comes to museums and other things, although I recommend going to everything if you visit this city. The Field Museum, Museum of Science and Industry, the Modern Wing of the Art Institute, and the Shedd Aquarium never cease to amaze me. Anyway, David (see DBP Loves You) took us to the zoo and we walked around. I was already exhausted. Then we came home and ate lunch (at 3!).

Soon my mom came back and plopped on the couch immediately saying she had walked too many miles downtown… She insisted on packing stuff up because she felt she wasn’t doing enough (as if!) but I forced her to lay on the couch and I gave her a foot massage (I am very strict when it comes to relaxing). Then the people came to get the bed they bought from us, so my mom jumped up and helped them take it to their van. Now Audrey is sleeping on a foam mattress and I am sleeping on my mattress although I doubt for long because that is probably being sold today too. Oh well.. I am only sleeping on the couch or something for 2 nights or so because tomorrow we head out for Harbor Springs. My dad has a sailing regatta there with his team just like he did for Mackinac Island but that is a completely different story. My sisters served toast for dinner because none of us were hungry and there was the end of our day!

What a lucky mama!

About One World, 4 Girls

Hello! My name is Lillian and my family of 6 took a trip around the world for 8 months. I used my blog to document the places we visited, pictures, and my thoughts, ideas, and opinions. Check it out to read about our travels and follow us as we find our new place in the world and experience where life will take us next!

4 responses »

  1. Or, Lillian, you could heed Opa’s sage advice of soaking tired feet in really warm water. That always relaxes me when I’ve had a long day. Have a safe trip up North. We will be headed up when you are headed back down- perhaps we could meet at a rest stop!

    • Hmmm… maybe I will try that myself! Sounds like a good plan and have a safe trip down. Tell the cousins I say hi! 🙂

  2. That does sound like a long day. And you got a lot done too.
    Have fun up North and take some time to relax.
    Yesterday was a big day for us – Jack”s 8th birthday!!
    Will send pictures later.
    P.S. Toast doesn’t sound like much of a dinner! You girls need to eat more!! 🙂

Thoughts, Ideas, Opinions...

