A family yoga session, an early morning postcard, and a certain girl (with her goat)

Standard

Our trip is coming up and with that our to-do lists skim the floor! To start, we know a yoga instructor from German School Chicago and at a silent auction we purchased a private, 1 and a 1/2 hour lesson with her. One of our goals for this upcoming trip is to do yoga every morning with the entire family. I don’t really know if this is going to work… but we might as well give it a try! She conveniently put together a list of areas (balancing, strengthening…) and a number of poses doable for the entire family. The class was great!

An early morning postcard: In order to get our information out there to everyone we took a picture and printed some labels for the backside. At about 7:30 my parents kicked us out of bed and into some clothes, smiles, and backpacks. Then on a damp turf we positioned ourselves in front of a tiny tripod. I received 2 mosquito bites and after a half hour of smiling, repositioning, and who-knows-what… the last picture we took was the one we ended up using:

Oh and I almost forgot to mention: we met Stephanie Izard! After a walking architectural tour of Chicago (also on our to-do list), we drove to the famous Girl & the Goat (you can imagine which list that was on). Unfortunately, they were not open for lunch but we saw her sitting there with another woman in a meeting. We went right in and shook her hand. It was awesome.. she looks just like she did on Top Chef!

Our countdown is now down to…. 7 days and we’re getting excited!

About One World, 4 Girls

Hello! My name is Lillian and my family of 6 took a trip around the world for 8 months. I used my blog to document the places we visited, pictures, and my thoughts, ideas, and opinions. Check it out to read about our travels and follow us as we find our new place in the world and experience where life will take us next!

11 responses »

    • Thank you so much 🙂
      My dad even has a little countdown on his blog which he started up tonight. (www.4kidswilltravel.com)
      I hope the cousins are excited for the new school year (or did it already start?)
      Have tons of fun!
      Lots of love,
      Lillian (and Audrey, Emilia, Josephine)

  1. Yoga in the morning! Sounds like the RIGHT start to me. And I am in for that last smile – but most importantly: you will live much longer now, that you smiled for an entire 1 1/2 hours !(how wise from your parents!)
    I love your posts Lillian !-

    Ganz viele Liebe Gruesse Deine Huettemaenner und -frauen.

    • Danke!!! Smiling is good for you… and on this trip I’m sure we will do it a lot 🙂
      Ich hoffe dass neue Schuljahr enthelt viel Spass,
      Lillian (und Audrey, Emilia, Josephine)

  2. I must be really out of the loop- Who is Stephanie Izard? I guess I don’t watch enough tv. Good Luck with the yoga! Maybe an evening session would work, too. I try to stretch before bed to prevent too much soreness. Be safe on the road!

    • Stephanie Izard won Top Chef a couple of years ago, but she’s from Chicago so we all cheered for her of course 🙂
      Thanks so much and I hope all of the cousins are excited for the new school year… or did it already start?
      We miss all of you!
      Chicago Cousins

  3. Hey Lilian, teach your father how to write a good blog … 😉
    What a great family picture! I wasn´t around – so, who else could take it???

    Europe welcomes you!

    Jojo

    • Thanks Jojo 🙂 I think we are going to probably teach each other! Actually a tiny tripod took it with my dad there until the last second…
      We are looking forward to seeing you guys!
      Lillian (und Josephine, Emilia, und Audrey)

  4. Lillian,
    Love the picture. You all look ready to conquer Europe and beyond. Can you even sleep with all that excitement and anticipation?! Safe travels and have fun.
    We are no longer homeless in Washington. Our POD came today and it is almost empty. Unpacking will be another story.
    Good luck and keep us updated on your adventure.
    Love, Tante Natasha, Oom Chris, and Jack too.

  5. Love your blog Lillian. You write so well, I cannot help but want to read more. Nora and I will be living vicariously through you all. Best wishes from the Diaz-Perez family in Chicago.

Thoughts, Ideas, Opinions...

