Wonderful food, long hikes, and yoga on the rocks – Locarno, Switzerland

Standard

The past days have been as eventful as usual, and it seems almost impossible that we arrived in Switzerland only 8 days ago! In only the first 2 days of Switzerland we saw Zurich, its charm and peacefulness, as well as the view from the top of Mount Pilatus, which was amazing.

Day 4:

The next day all of us girls took a train to the beautiful city of Locarno, where we are staying now. Instead, my dad and Juergen (we were staying with the Hassloechers, friends of ours) hiked up 1899 meters… and back down again. Meanwhile, we arrived and settled in the house of Juergen’s mother. It is a house from the 60s and really charming, and the living room has an amazing view of the lake Lago Maggiore and the mountains across from us. We went down into Locarno since the house is in Orselina, a small town directly above it, and enjoyed some gelato. It was probably the best gelato I’ve ever had! They had flavors all the way to Lychee sorbet and rice pudding. I had Mozart, which was chocolate and marzipan with pistachios. We took the bus up and met Juergen, my dad, and Jakob (who was at his hockey game) back at the house to start our adventure in Locarno.

Day 5:

On day 5 we did a gorgeous hike by taking  a train to Verdasio. From Verdasio you can take a “seilbahn” (train that dangles in the air by a rope) to the other side of the river and to a little town named Rasa. From there we hiked all the way the Bordei, a quaint village on another mountain. We walked all the way down and then crossed a river with giant boulders. We had tons of fun climbing from boulder to boulder, although I got both of my shoes wet due to some slippery ones! The beauty of the foliage, the dancing shadow spots in the air, and the sound of the rocky trail and rushing water is an amazing, and purely simple experience… In Bordei almost all of the houses are made entirely of stacked rocks. This gives the overall effect that you are in an entirely different decade: with stone ovens, firewood stacked against the house, roofs stuffed with hay, and tiny passageways through the maze of little houses. The little restaurant we went to was incredibly delicious! We walked back down a different route and encountered more little brooks and their stone “men”, which hikers build on big rocks. Oh, and of course, some yoga had to be done in a peaceful place… right in the middle of a stream in the woods! Once we came home I realized that the funny thing about mountains is that when you come back down you can’t imagine you were all the way up there!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Day 6:

The Hassloechers left for their house in Zurich the night before and therefore we were left to our own devices on Monday. So a full day of homeschooling was on our agenda and our classroom is the patio downstairs. We did a geography project using all of the old maps and, of course, science, math, reading, writing in our journals and all that… It is pretty cool to be schooled by your parents!

About One World, 4 Girls

Hello! My name is Lillian and my family of 6 took a trip around the world for 8 months. I used my blog to document the places we visited, pictures, and my thoughts, ideas, and opinions. Check it out to read about our travels and follow us as we find our new place in the world and experience where life will take us next!

9 responses »

  1. All looks pretty fantastic!
    Love the yoga on the rocks – is that a title nine top?
    Are you traveling with an atlas? When we took our trip to Washington, I highlighted the route on the atlas. Might be fun to do that for all the places you go. Just a thought
    We are getting settled in here too. Ran a 15K and a 5K last weekend. Arlette, our cousin, I think your cousin once removed, is running the Amsterdam half-marathon in October.
    Are you sore from all the hiking? When we went hiking in Austria, I was so sore the next day.
    Happy travels,
    Love, Tante Natasha, Oom Chris, Jack

    • Thanks Tante Natasha!
      Actually, it’s an Athleta top that was on sale so I thought it would be good for the trip… It’s worked out great so far because it keeps me warm but it’s not too heavy or big and it’s really comfy! Actually, we are traveling with an atlas so I think that’s a great idea! I wonder if we could even incorporate it in school; so far we’ve done a couple projects with maps and other things… Glad you’re getting settled and congratulations on those runs! I think we’ll see Arlette sometime in November! Actually, now that we’ve done a lot of hiking our usual hike down into the actual city of Locarno doesn’t feel as long. But we were pretty sore in the beginning!
      Love,
      Lillian and Co

  2. Hi, Lillian! I am one of your dad’s Chase coworkers – we met in the lobby of my apartment building as you guys were going to the beach – anyway, just wanted to say that I am enjoying reading your posts and absolutely loving the photos. Switzerland is on my list of places I’d like to visit, and from the photos it looks fabulous! Keep having fun and sharing your experiences – I’m looking forward to reading about it! Hi to your dad and family. ~Amy

    • Thanks! I’m glad you are enjoying my blog 🙂
      Since we are taking so many and they really give a feel for where we are and what we are doing, I’ll definitely add many photos onto my blog.
      Wordpress allows only one at a time, but I found a way to do a slideshow, so now I’ll probably do that more often to show more pictures!
      Looking forward to sharing more of my travels,
      Lillian

  3. You’r lucky girls!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! yes the gelato in Italy is delicious. And the Mozart Kugels too!!They are more from Östrich. Do you have walking shoes, not fot the city but for the trails in the woods and the mountains.
    Yoga in the waterfall whow!
    How was the school day? Did you learn very much? And homework, where do you make that?
    Have a nice time and most of all I hope you learn a lot of things you can not find and see in the USA ,
    XX T, Riet

    • Thanks! We do have hiking shoes… I think each of us have flip-flops, nice sandals, and a pair of hiking shoes. So far the trails have been pretty steep so we are very glad for those!
      We are learning a lot actually, not only the standard things but also a little Italian, some cool things about Switzerland, how to use a map, etc…
      I don’t really know about homework yet.. My mom and dad make tests and we study for them, so I guess that is a form of homework, but since we are together all day there isn’t really a lot of homework.
      Thanks!
      XX Lillian

Thoughts, Ideas, Opinions...

