Change of Plans…

Standard

There is only one thing constant in life and that is change.

Over the last couple of weeks many things have changed.

  1. We are not moving to Berlin.
  2. We are staying in Chicago for one more year.

That’s about it. My mother visited Berlin before us, planned on finding an apartment, which she did, and exploring the city, which she did also. However, as she biked and biked and biked, she couldn’t shake her intuition telling her this was not the place for us, long-term. So after much back and forth, she came back to us in Chicago. Our goal is still to move to Europe in the end – for all of the reasons stated in the previous post; quality of life, education, family… It has been a dream of ours for a long time, but we weren’t ready to just settle down anywhere after Berlin didn’t work out. So, the choice we made was to stay in Chicago for one more year and during this year we can explore our options in Europe further.

We moved into our new apartment recently, found the day we made this decision. It’s almost surreal to unpack boxes I packed up 2 years ago, when we moved out of our house and downsized, before the trip was even mentioned. I am happy we get to stay, and I get to keep the friends and community we have here for one more year. But I know I have to leave again, and that puts a little dollop of sadness into our chaotic soup. I have one entire year, so I will just choose not to taste it.

The first thing that came to mind when we decided on this news was the school – my sisters will go to my fantastic elementary school, AG Bell, but I am now in High School! It’s crazy, I still can’t get over it myself. I was accepted on short-term to Lincoln Park High School, into the IB program. The International Baccalaureate allows me to study at hundreds of universities around the world where it is recognized. I am very excited, and a little apprehensive, (isn’t everyone on their first day of something new?) to be starting High School. And I am sorry to say I will have an exorbitant amount of homework so I will probably not get to blogging as often as I should (this gap was crazy enough, but I wanted to be sure of every most things before I publish it for the whole world to see). However, I will try!
As for where we will end up – no one, least of all myself, knows. But not all who wander are lost… It’ll work out!

PS: Audrey left for a 3-week trip to Europe! Our family in Germany generously offered to take her to Switzerland, Munich, Sardinia… She is coming back September 2 (2 days before school starts!). Hopefully I can convince her to be a guest-blogger here – I would love to share more travels with you.

4 responses »

  1. I’ve enjoyed your blog so much — and I am really happy that you get to spend another year in Chicago, at your wonderful high school! I can’t believe how easy-going all you girls are about moving, and not knowing what will be going on — you are true wanderers!!!

    • It is both easy and difficult not knowing what the future might bring. How that makes sense I’m not quite sure, but it somehow does. Thank you so much for the support; I’m sure this next year will bring much more exciting news! Lillian

  2. I was so happy to learn that you all will be in Chicago for another year. Bell is really lucky to have great families like yours as part of our community. I hope you had a wonderful first day at Lincoln Park. I know that the IB program is supposed to be especially rigorous, but, if anybody can handle the challenge, it is you. Have a wonderful year, and be sure to stop by and say hello to us whenever you get a chance. Cheers!

    • Thank you!
      My first week at Lincoln Park was definitely an exciting and new experience – like traveling again and having to get used to an entire new world. High school is not a stress free environment, that’s for sure 🙂 Now that I know where everything is I am looking forward to going to school as much as ever.
      I will definitely stop by Bell with my 3 sisters being there and say hello to all of my wonderful teachers 🙂
      I hope you had a good time in Iceland and that this coming year is great!
      Lillian

Thoughts, Ideas, Opinions...

