My Teachers are on Strike!

Standard

Yes, I live in Chicago, currently on the national news because our teachers are striking for the first time in 25 years. This is also why I found time to write this blog…

And time to go to the beach! Today was a beautiful day: 88 degrees, blue skies, with a bit of wind.

Apart from this week, high school has been great eventful! Today I spoke to another mother about writing skills, which include using a wide range of vocabulary instead of always using “Great! :)” so there you have it. High school is vividly portrayed in the movies and anyone who watches Disney (with their little siblings of course!) can attest to that. The lockers and teachers, in our case riding the ancient El train to school, the jocks and cheerleaders, nerds and skateboarders… And of course they all break into song at one point or another. However, can attest to the fact that it is not like that at all. Well, maybe a little.

On the first day everyone clutched to their schedules like they were their life, arrived at least 15 minutes early to make absolutely positively sure they wouldn’t get to their first class of the first day late, and wandered around the building frantically searching for the correct room number, myself included. No amount of makeup on the girls or coolness aura on the boys would cover the fact that everyone was extremely nervous. Which could theoretically have been eleviated by having a KinderCone… (some marketing for my mother’s company can never go amiss).

It becomes better of course… My teachers are fantastic and one of the goals of the IB program and its teachers is to make sure we all get something out of our learning experience; they are intent on making us think and analyze: no busy work! I’m getting to know all of the kids and their names, one by one. I’ve been keeping in touch with my other friends from other schools as well so that makes me very happy! On a completely unrelated yet relevant topic, I am going back to ballet. And maybe, possibly start rowing. I’ve really found I enjoy rowing at Junior Lifeguard camp, although I think if I am going to row, it would probably be in the winter and spring. So with many hours of homework, a 7:45-3:55 school day, and a commute (which is fun!), I will be rather busy. At least, not until they stop striking. However, I will definitely continue to blog!

Let me know how your first days were!

One response »

  1. Hi,
    Would you be interested in writing a guest blog post on our blog, http://www.womenstravelblog.com/ ? We are a PR 2 blog whose audience enjoys reading anything about travel (e.g. “Top 4 Places for Women Travelers”, “The fun and excitement of Solo Traveling”, “Turkey land of Holidays”, etc). And, of course, you’ll receive a FOLLOWED link to your blog or page of your choice. Please let me know if you’re interested. I think you’d be a great fit with our audience, and we’d also like to talk with you about other partnerships.I have few more travel sites and blogs for link exchange and article exchange if interested please feel free to contact me

    Talk to you soon 

    Ratna Sharma
    ratna.fp@gmail.com

Thoughts, Ideas, Opinions...

